In basketball, if you rebound your own missed free throw and the ball goes out of bounds, it’s a violation. If you’re lucky, the other team will just get the ball back. But if they call a foul on you, you could end up giving them two free throws and the ball.
So be careful when you’re going for that board!
When you shoot a free throw, you must release the ball within five seconds of catching it. If you don’t, it’s a violation and the other team gets the ball.
But what if you’re the one who misses the free throw?
Can you rebound your own miss and avoid a turnover? The answer is yes! As long as you follow the proper procedure, rebounding your own missed free throw is perfectly legal.
Here’s how it works: When you miss a free throw, immediately signal for a timeout. This will give your team an opportunity to set up a play while preventing the other team from getting possession of the ball.
Once your team has been granted a timeout, inbound the ball to yourself. You can then take as much time as you need to shoot another free throw (or two). Just be sure to release the ball within five seconds once you catch it.
5 Commonly Mistaken Basketball Rules (FIBA)
Can You Rebound Your Own Missed Shot?
In basketball, the answer to this question is usually no. Rebounding your own missed shot would be considered a violation and you would be called for a turnover. However, there are some rare exceptions to this rule.
If the ball hits the rim and then bounces back into your hand before you take another dribble, you are allowed to rebound your own miss and put the ball back up.
Does a Missed Free Throw Count As a Rebound?
In basketball, a rebound is the act of regaining possession of the ball after a missed field goal or free throw. So does a missed free throw count as a rebound?
The answer is yes, a missed free throw does count as a rebound.
When a player misses a free throw, the opposing team gains possession of the ball and can either attempt to score or pass it to another player. However, if the shot clock expires before the opposing team can gain control of the ball, then the team who originally took the free throw gets another chance to score.
Can You Purposefully Miss a Free Throw?
It is possible to purposely miss a free throw in basketball. This can be done by using poor form or aiming the ball off target. However, it is very difficult to do this consistently and most players will only make an intentional miss occasionally.
If a player is trying to make an intentional miss, they may give away their intentions by holding the ball differently or looking at the rim instead of the backboard.
Is It Legal to Catch Your Own Airball?
Technically, no. An airball is a live ball that has not touched the rim or backboard and is still in bounds. Once the ball touches anything other than another player (including the floor), it becomes dead and cannot be touched again by anyone on either team.
So if you catch your own airball, it’s a goaltending violation and the other team gets the ball. Now, this isn’t to say that players haven’t tried to get around this rule. In 2001, then-Lakers center Shaquille O’Neal caught an airball he had just shot and threw it back in play, hoping that officials would mistake it for a pass (they didn’t).
In 2006, Miami Heat guard Dwyane Wade did essentially the same thing, though he was called for a turnover instead of goaltending. So while you technically can’t catch your own airball, there have been players who have tried (and failed) to do so in order to keep possession for their team.
Can You Purposely Miss a Free Throw
When you’re playing basketball, there are times when it may be advantageous to purposely miss a free throw. Maybe you’re down by a couple of points and need to foul to stop the clock. Or maybe you want to keep the score close so you can make a comeback in the second half.
Whatever the reason, there are ways to do it. The most common way to miss a free throw is to aim for the back of the rim. This ensures that the ball doesn’t have enough spin on it to go in.
Another way is to shoot it short so that it hits the front of the rim and bounces out. You can also try an off-balance shot or one-handed shot if you’re feeling really confident that you won’t make it. Of course, missing a free throw on purpose isn’t always easy.
If you don’t practice beforehand, your misses will probably look too obvious and may even get called as traveling or offensive fouls. So if you plan on doing this in a game, make sure you perfect your technique in practice first!
In basketball, if you miss a free throw and the ball bounces off the rim, you are allowed to rebound your own missed shot. However, there are rules violations that can occur during this process. If you touch the ball before it hits the ground, it is considered a goaltending violation and the other team will be awarded the basket.
If you touch the ball after it hits the ground but before it goes through the hoop, it is considered a foul and the other team will be awarded two free throws.
Emma, the founder of The Info Book, started with a passion for Blogging in 2013. She has continued her passion for Blogging and desire to improve her skills and wanted to share her journey and helpful knowledge with other like-minded individuals.
She launched The Info Book as an outlet for those interested in learning more about topics like automotive, sports in hopes that other’s can take what she learn and apply it for themselves!